In order for your worker and dispatcher to share information about the job between each other, mobile application synchronizes with the Planado server. During sync Planado:
- updates all the changes in the jobs with the server;
- downloads all the additional files to jobs from the server;
- uploads to server all the photos and other information added in the reports.
App tries to synchronize automatically every 2 minutes, even if the app is minimized. Synchronization also happens when you open the application or change the status of any job.
⚠️ If your phone has a slow internet connection (2G, EDGE, GPRS), during synchronization application won't upload photos from reports to the server and won't download any attached to job files. Only text information of the jobs will be updated. Files exchange between app and server will begin as soon as you connect to a faster network (3G, LTE, Wi-Fi). After that, photos from reports will be uploaded to the server and dispatchers will be able to see them in the web application.
Synchronization can be done manually, without waiting for automatic updates. Click on the Sync option in the app menu or just drag a list of jobs down.
You will see the synchronization symbol on the screen.
When dispatcher creates or changes a job in the web application, the user in the mobile application will receive push notification. After receiving push notification Planado synchronizes with the server. On the lock screen and the notifications top bar of your phone you will see notification message. Click on it to open the corresponding job.
You receive push notifications when:
- you have a new job assigned to you;
- status of the job updates to either Started, En route, Paused or Finished in web application;
- any information about the job was changed.
⚠️Make sure you turned on push notifications for Planado (check article Device configuration).
If you lost an internet connection on your phone, Planado app will start working in offline mode. You will receive a warning message in the upper panel of the app.
In the offline mode app won't be able to synchronize and you also won't receive push notifications. Any changes made to jobs in the mobile applications (including making photos) are saved to phone memory, but won't be uploaded and seen in the web application yet. You can see how many changes were made in the offline mode and not uploaded to the server in the Unsent.
In this menu you will also see the time of the last successful synchronization. Any changes done after this time by the operator in the web application are not downloaded and therefore are not available in the mobile application.
As soon as your phone connects to the internet, your app will automatically update all the data with the server during the next synchronization. If you want to update immediately when you connect to the internet you can also manually launch synchronization by clicking on the Sync button on the menu.